HomeWord’s Worth

What is CUET? Everything you need to know about CUET.

Photo: Chris Liverani (Unsplash)

Amidst the mixed reactions and raging debates, CUET has crossed 1 lakh registrations in the first week itself. The pattern has been released and the extensive prep for the test has begun.

Common University Entrance Test (CUET) seeks to overcome some current shortcomings in the college admissions process. CUET is a revamped version of CUCET.

Students seeking admission into central universities will have to clear and do well in CUET. Central universities are some of the most sought and highly rated publicly funded centres for graduate and post-graduate studies. CUET has been described as ‘student friendly’ and is expected to level the playing field. The same test will have to be taken by all students seeking admission into all central universities.  Currently, students seeking admission into central universities try to do so after clearing the class XII examinations of different boards with different practices right across the country. For their part, different central universities have different cut-off points.

Some important details about the CUET Exam are

Particulars Details
Duration Slot I – 3 hours 15 mins

Slot II – 3 hours 15 mins

Sections 3 section (Language, Domain-Specific, General Test)
Number of Questions Section 1: Languages (10 Questions can be unattempted out of 50 Questions)

Section 2: Domain-Specific (10 Questions can be unattempted out of 50 Questions)

Section 3: General Test (15 Questions can be unattempted out of 75 Questions)

Exam Language Can be taken in any out of 13 languages.


CUET 2022: Marking Scheme

NTA has confirmed the CUET Exam Pattern & marking scheme for the exam. As per the official notification, for every correct attempt, 5 marks will be awarded, and for every incorrect attempt, 1 mark will be deducted. There will be no penalty for unattempted questions.

CUET Exam Pattern 2022- Domain-Specific Subjects

The list of 27 Domain-Specific subjects as mentioned in the CUET Exam Pattern is given below. The candidates may choose a maximum of 6 Subjects from the below-mentioned list. 

  • Accountancy/BookKeeping
  • Biology/ Biological Studies/ Biotechnology/Biochemistry
  • Business Studies
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science/ Informatics Practices
  • Economics/ Business Economics
  • Engineering Graphics
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Geography/Geology
  • History
  • Home Science
  • Knowledge Tradition and Practices of India
  • Legal Studies
  • Environmental Science
  • Mathematics
  • Physical Education/ NCC /Yoga
  • Physics
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Sociology
  • Teaching Aptitude
  • Agriculture
  • Mass Media/ Mass Communication
  • Anthropology
  • Fine Arts/ Visual Arts (Sculpture/ Painting)/Commercial Arts,
  • Performing Arts – (i) Dance (Kathak/ Bharatnatyam/ Oddisi/ Kathakali/Kuchipudi/ Manipuri (ii) Drama- Theatre (iii) Music General (Hindustani/ Carnatic/ Rabindra Sangeet/ Percussion/ Non-Percussion)
  • Sanskrit